Independent Democracy

Thought provoking commentary

Once **** – Movie Review

I don’t visit the movie theater often, preferring instead to watch a DVD at home from Netflix. And I don’t much care for “musical” type movies although I did enjoy recent music themed films such as Chicago and Walk the Line. So the movie Once had an uphill climb to snare my interest before I forked over my hard earned dollars.

It received very high ratings on Ebert and Roeper and I put a lot of weight into their ratings. It’s very rare that they give a movie thumbs up and I don’t agree. After watching this film, I must say it’s at the top of my list as one of the best films I’ve seen this year.

Don’t get turned off at the description of this film as a musical. Yes, there’s music but it’s not show tune style music with people singing and dancing in every other scene. This is a superbly well rounded film with the right mix of humor, love, sadness, and joy. It’s simply a wonderful film that will leave you in a very good mood after watching it. The music is fabulous as the lead actors sing the tunes themselves without the use of much other than a guitar and a piano. I don’t buy movie soundtracks very often but this was one I just had to have.

If you watch one movie over the 4th of July holiday, seek out this wonderful film. Be prepared to leave the theater with the feeling that you’ve just watched a film that you won’t soon forget and will see again when the Oscar’s are announced.

Hear some of the music at Fox Searchlight Pictures.

Sameritech’s 4 star guide:

**** Loved it
*** Really liked it
** Average, but watchable
* Didn’t like it, wasted my time, would rather have watched a George Bush speech

Once – In this charming contemporary musical helmed by John Carney, a street musician (Glen Hansard) in Dublin, Ireland, strikes up a friendship with a migrant street hawker (Markéta Irglová). Over the course of a busy week, they compose, rehearse and record a series of songs that mirror the duo’s burgeoning romance — and help the young busker release his musical passions. The actors wrote the tunes they perform in this film that was recognized at Sundance 2007.

July 2, 2007 - Posted by | Movies

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

